top of page

Please View Below for SSA Information


The Key to Winning Your Case is Knowing SSA's 5 Step Evaluation

Thank you for visiting our website. Understanding disability law is often very confusing. Our disability legal experts, SSA Accredited Representatives, and Associates are here to help and make the process easy during your SSDI or SSI claim. First, the Federal Social Security Disability Act 42 U.S.C. Sec. 423(d) states:  “disability” means the “inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months or results in death.” This step is typically met if you are unable to work due to a medical or mental disability. If this step is met, the Social Security Administration ("SSA") uses a 5 step process to evaluate your disability and/or impairment(s) as follows:

  1. Is the individual engaging in substantial gainful activity ("SGA")? If yes deny; if no go to step 2.  *(See below for SSA definition of SGA).
  2. Is the impairment(s) severe? If yes go to step 3; if no deny.
  3. Impairment(s) meet or equal medical listings? If yes allow; if no assess Residual Functional Capacity ("RFC").  *(See below for SSA medical listing requirements and RFC assessment as defined by SSA).
  4. What is the claimant's residual functional capacity ("RFC")? Can the claimant perform past relevant work?  If yes deny; if no go to step 5.  *(See below for RFC assessment).
  5. Is the claimant able to perform other work?  If yes deny; if no allow.
It is critical for your legal advocate to understand these steps! This is where SSA Disability Advocates of Michigan PLLC.,  comes in; we will help you understand and navigate through these rules and policies establishing a favorable decision for your SSA  claim. Individuals with disabilities have enough stressors, don't let the SSA process be another stress factor in your life! Simply, we will get you the results YOU DESERVE!

*NOTE: SSA, Substantial Gainful Activity ("SGA").

*NOTE: SSA, Medical listings are disabling conditions that can be considered severe enough by the Social Security Administration to qualify a person for Social Security disability benefits.

*NOTE: SSA, Residual Functional Capacity ("RFC") defined.

bottom of page